Power Of Performance Awards


The team behind the Small Communities, BIG Solutions Conference created an award ceremony to highlight those who are driving forward success in southern West Virginia. Since its start in 2018, many individuals, employers, nonprofits, organizations, and institutions have been recognized through the Power of Performance Awards for their remarkable work in southern West Virginia. As the Small Communities, BIG Solutions Conference enters its 6th year, the awards advisory team remains dedicated to sharing success stories, highlighting #WVSolutions, and honoring those who are leading the way.

Our conference partners, including the Alliance for Economic Development of Southern West Virginia, Coalfield Development Corporation, and the WV Community Development Hub, are excited to honor these individuals or organizations during our in-person Small Communities, BIG Solutions Conference that will be held on November 8-9, 2023 at the West Virginia Osteopathic School in Lewisburg, WV. The awards ceremony will take place on November 9th.

The deadline to submit a nomination is October 27th, 2023

2023 Power Of Performance Honorees

Michelle Toman Brother Up Foundation, Mercer County
Jeff Biddle Midian Leadership Group, Inc, Kanawha County
Matt Ford Greenbrier Environmental Group, Inc, Greenbrier County
Pauline Sturgill The Housing Authority of the City of Williamson, Mingo County

2022 Power Of Performance Honorees

Marshall Health’s CORE Program, Cabell County
Terri Giles, Appalachian Headwaters, Summers County
Errol Randall, Grace Project, Kanawha County
Jason Grub, City of Welch, Raleigh County
Jobs and Hope
Joni Cantrell, Arts in Action, Putnam County

2021 Power Of Performance Honorees

Minority Health Institute, Cabell County
Misty Martin, Marie’s Recovery House, Wayne County
Missy Nester, Publisher Welch Daily News, McDowell
Kristin Dial, Coalfield Health Center, Logan County
Dan Conant, Solar Holler, Cabell County
Todd Cope, CentralApp, Putnam County

2020 Power Of Performance Honorees

Jesse Spaulding, Fresh Start program, Mingo County
Jocelyn Sheppard, Appalachian Botanical Company, Boone County
The New River Gorge Trail Alliance, Fayette County
Trash Your Kayak River Cleanup Crew, Kanawha County
Julie Greenlee, Clay County High School, Clay County
Chuck Toussieng, Richwood Scientific

2019 Power Of Performance Honorees

Sarah Riley, High Rocks Educational Corporation, Pocahontas County
Vikki Webb, Community Transformation Project
Tammy Jordan, Fruits of Labor, Greenbrier and Fayette County
Ashland Scenic Campground, McDowell County
Judy Moore, WV HIVE Network, Raleigh County
Healthy Grand families Project, Kanawha County

Past Small Communities,
BIG Solutions Advocate

2022 – Dr. Drema Hill, West Virginia School of Osteopathic School of Medicine, Greenbrier County

2021 – Jim Spencer, City of Bluefield, Mercer County

2020 – Charles Shaw, Real Life Christian Church

2019 – Rev. Matthew Watts, Kanawha County